When We Lose Ourselves

This is long overdue
And it does not come easily
But it needs to be said
Because I’m tired of lying
To myself.
It’s funny
How we ache
When we lose ourselves
But do not even realize
That we are drifting.
I’ve missed these words
But I didn’t even know until
I reached for the pen
And it was buried
Deep in my skin.
So now, I am pulling it out.
Forgive me if I bleed
And scream a bit
In the process.
It might take some time
For the words to come back
Because I am out of practice.
The ink has seeped into my veins.
I cannot hate it
For trying to write in my blood.
For trying to write the words inside
So they would not die
On my lips
Before I sewed them shut.

Leave a Reply

